My novel ‘Near Me Now’ is longlisted for the Lucy Cavendish Award 2019!

Image result for lucy cavendish prize I am thrilled to find out the opening fifty pages of my novel have been selected by the Lucy Cavendish judges from over 600 entries, for the long list of the 2019 prize.

I entered this award without any expectation, thinking the ‘real writers’ would be all over it, but if there was a ‘commended’ list I might sneak on the end. But I was a million miles over the moon to open the email saying I was on the list of the last twenty. And I was delighted to see that I writer I met last year on a course, who is now a friend too, is also on the list – congratulations, Francesca Emmett. I’ve been lucky enough to hear her read a bit of ‘Eternity Blues’ and it’s brilliant!

I’ve always thought being long listed is a weird alchemy of taste, trend and the good fortune of naming your protagonist after the reader’s mum / child / dog (not necessarily in that order). Its not clear which of those has worked for me – but, hey, this is the Lucy Cavendish, I’m not asking too many questions…

The short list of five is out at the end of the month. And what I’ve learnt is, apply for everything, don’t over think it and send in your best work. Hey, you liked it. Someone else will too.

(Gotta go now, have a considerable amount of novel to polish…)

Leave a comment